0

Databases

Expand All
22 results found

Learning Express

Category
Description

Visit EBSCO's Learning Express to find Tests, Tutorials, eBooks...

Learning Express is provided by the Arkansas State Library through the Arkansas Traveler Database.  This resource can be accessed from any personal computer or smartphone. First-time users must create a profile in order to use the resource.

Mango Languages

Category
Description


Mango Languages is provided by the Arkansas State Library through the Arkansas Traveler Database.  This resource provides language-learning experiences with lesson plans for 71 different languages. Mango also features ESL lessons for over 16 languages along with a text translator. This resource can be accessed from any personal computer or smartphone. First time users must create a profile in order to use the resource.

Traveler Databases

Category
Description

The Traveler program provides free remote access for all Arkansas citizens to high-quality subscription databases from reputable publishers. The databases contain a variety of information sources: popular magazines, newspapers and periodicals; academic and professional journals, eBook collections, and general reference and discovery sources that are suitable for online and scholarly research.The Traveler program presents a significant costs savings. Traveler spends approximately $750 per library, but each library would pay over $100,000 to duplicate the same resources and access. This collection of databases can be accessed from any personal computer or smartphone.

African American Heritage

Category
Description
  • African American Heritage is exclusively devoted to African American family history research. This collection was created in partnership with leading African American genealogists and recognized leaders in genealogical information to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically pertaining to African Americans. This database is provided by the Traveler program and is available to all Arkansas residents.

Ancestry Library Edition

Category
Description
  • Ancestry® Library Edition delivers over 4 billion records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. It’s an unprecedented online collection from North America, Europe, Australia, and more. Popular collections include: US, Canadian, UK and International Collections, Military Collections and Multi-media CollectionsFor additional Ancestry Library Edition information and tools, click here.
  • This database can only be accessed at the library.

HeritageHub

Category
Description
  • Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images.
  • This database can be accessed at home. You will need your library card number to access this database at home.

HeritageQuest Online

Category
Description
  • HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources with coverage dating back to the 1700s. The collection consists of six core data sets: U.S. Federal Censuses, Genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War records, Freedman’s Bank Records, and LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set. For additional HeritageQuest information and tools, click here.
  • This database can be accessed at home. You will need your library card number to access this database at home.

ABC-CLIO

Category
Description

ABC-CLIO provides reference, nonfiction, online curriculum, and professional development to inspire life-long learning for today’s students and educators.

Proquest CultureGrams

Category
Description

CultureGrams is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world. With world events increasingly affecting our lives, it's more important than ever to educate students about the world around them, and for college students and business people to stay up-to-date.

ProQuest Research Companion

Category
Description

ProQuest Research Companion was built to help students do more effective research and to support educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.

Proquest SIRS® Discoverer

Category
Description

SIRS® Discoverer™ is a multidisciplinary database specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas including history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. 

Worldbook Discover

Category
Description

World Book Discover Assist differentiated learners and older adults with a research database that offers a practical Life Skills section. A collection of unique videos, featuring expert answers to often asked questions, and a visual dictionary make content more accessible for readers of all levels.

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

Category
Description

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos This dedicated Spanish-language database contains videos, compare-and-contrast features, selected articles, and a visual dictionary to allow ESL students and Spanish-learners the chance to learn.

Worldbook Kids

Category
Description

World Book Online is an engaging, verified, and trustworthy digital resource for grades pre-K through high school.

Worldbook Student

Category
Description

It's easy to see why Worldbook Student is the most popular and most widely used research website. Optimized for iPads, this comprehensive site includes engaging content, built-in features, and fun tools specifically designed to make knowledge accessible and easy-to-find for all kids in elementary through middle school. 

Worldbook Timelines

Category
Description

Search more than 650 pre-generated timelines and 14,000 event in a highly interactive and customizable database. Investigate the chronological significance of world events and the lives of notable historical figures.

World Book’s Early Learning

Category
Description

World Book’s early learning print series work to instill a lifelong love of learning in children from an early age. These books pair large, colorful photographs and illustrations with simple, engaging text; they are perfect for pre-readers to follow along with an adult or for beginning readers to practice their reading skills.

See More

Alma Journal (6/29/05-Current)

Category
Description

This is the electronic edition of local newspaper, Alma Journal. Paid ads are excluded. This database can be accessed from any personal computer with an internet connection with your library card number as your login.

America's News

Category
Description

America's News by NewsBank is a digital collection of current and archived issues of newspapers that are updated daily. This resource enables you to easily search and browse current and archived news articles, editorials, reviews, birth and marriage announcements, obituaries and a variety of special sections. This database can be accessed from any personal computer with an internet connection with your library card number as your login.
 

Arkansas Digital Newspaper Project

Category
Description

The Arkansas Digital Newspaper Project (ADNP) has digitized over 200,000 pages of newspaper content as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) and is currently working on digitizing an additional 100,000 pages as part of our third cycle (2021-2023). All content digitized as part of this program is funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities through a partnership with the Library of Congress.

Press Argus-Courier (1/24/05-Current)

Category
Description

This is the electronic edition of local newspaper, Press Argus-Courier. Paid ads are excluded. This database can be accessed from any personal computer with an internet connection with your library card number as your login.
 

Times Record (3/1/00-Current)

Category
Description

This is the electronic edition of local newspaper, Southwest Times Record. Paid ads are excluded. This database can be accessed from any personal computer with an internet connection with your library card number as your login.